basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

10:12 a.m.
2004-11-10
Avoidance

No motivation.

Absoultely none.

It's week 10. That means that unless it's crunch time, there's absolutely no push to get anything done.

Now I know how Lowell felt last year.

I'd rather play Pokemon than read Whitman. I'd rather play FFVII than read about annulments. I'd rather soak in the tub and read things I've already read than write a paper about the Cask of Amontillado.

We all know which one is the more fun option here. But we also all know which is the more important.

I tell myself it's because I'm trying to not go insane with too much work or whatever the hell. We all know it's just a pitiful excuse to avoid doing work until I have to do it or fail.

...just like typing this entry. ><

I had a really long reflection on my take on love for the past five or six years of my life that I was going to put in here. I wrote it during the video we watched on Walt Whitman yesterday. Romanticism does this to me. It makes me want to write again. It makes me want to create. However, nothing I create comes even remotely close to what these men and women created, and I feel inadequate. Like I shouldn't even be trying, as it's an insult to writers everywhere. Like this is now.

Maybe one day I'll put it up in here. I'll risk judgements by others and whatever else is hindering me and put it in. Today's not that day, however.

How will I avoid work today? By plunking out "1000 Words" on the piano during my break, that's how.

Quote for the Day: "I'm going to give you a handout to read for next session..." "No, you're not." --Fr. Mike, then me and Alex in unison in REL yesterday

take you in :: spit you out