basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

10:49 a.m.
2004-10-21
Baseball Bonding

It's amazing what will bring people together.

You always hear about sports both joining and dividing random groups of people. I've just never been involved in one of those situations. Last night at work, though, I finally got to experience the uniqueness of this.

The series between Boston and New York has been nothing but amazing. I know nothing of either team, but I do know that what has happened is spectacular and unheard of involving those teams. Last night was the last game of the series, as anyone in the US would know, and many, many people were interested. I heard a student say he needed to check ESPN.com to check on the game when they got in for their lab time last night, and I told him to do his work, and I'd run a scoreboard.

I had ESPN on a random computer in the room, and made a mini-scoreboard on one of the dry-erase boards. Right from the start, it was invigorating. Boston scored quickly, and much of the room cheered when I posted that score, and then the no score of New York in the first inning. Every couple of minutes, I was changing something on the board, and the room seemed to get happier every time I did.

Though I have two groups in the class that I goof around with and help out every week, this week, everybody seemed to somewhat bond. I kept putting up scores and updates, and people kept laughing and commenting, and then in turn asking me to check something on their activity, or ask a question about a part of the assignment. I don't know why getting asked to do more work was something of a reward last night, but it was. It was just nice to see a class bond like that, and not over hating the prof or something, which I have experienced in the past.

I have a feeling that this feeling of closeness might disappear within the next week or so of classu, but that's okay. This night that I dreaded, simply because I wanted to just get the hell out of Lincoln Park, ended up being really great.

I'll never say this again:

Huzzah for baseball.

Quote for the Day: "I hope class is cancelled today." --general sentiment of the Wobblers

take you in :: spit you out