basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

9:59 a.m.
2003-11-10
Results

This unofficially starts finals week. Finals week doesn't start until next Wednesday, but there's still a lot to do until then. I've got students to tutor, projects to work on, and everything else in between. It's going to get really busy really soon.

And to be quite honest, I'm actually kind of looking forward to it. I know that I've been in sort of a melancholy this whole quarter, though things have more or less been going so well that I really shouldn't be in said melancholy. I should be looking hopefully towards the future, being happy with what's happened, and thinking that it might get better, as opposed to worse, as I generally have been thinking. I think some of this has to do with not being so busy.

Last year, I'd have definite results to show I'd be getting work done. I'd be on the train reading, I would't have slept, I'd have two paychecks coming in to show that I was doing a lot of work type work, I'd have papers and other things. This quarter has had more reading than anything, but I haven't been keeping up on it. I don't have six pages of notes a day for each class. I've been more lethargic, and less goal-oriented. I put energy into some stuff, but not as much as I could. Reading doesn't have the results I need anymore, at least when it comes to school reading, and that's pretty much all I've been doing.

I have two weeks to get back in that sort of mindset. I will have definite results. I'll have my big paychecks from work for the next few weeks. I have a paper for Anne's class. I have three final exams, something that never happens. I have four students who are looking to me to help them understand concepts so they can do well in the class. I have my secretarial duties for anime club, and our general meeting to show what I can do. I have my modding duties, and other stuff at the forums. By the end of November, I'll have plenty of things to show that I've done a lot of work. I think that's kinda what I need.

Then, come Winter, I need to learn to still be able to work hard without seeing those sort of results. Some of them, like lack of sleep, aren't necessarily the best results in the world.

*sigh* Time to get back to that lack of results called reading Restoration Literature.

Quote for the Day: "I am, oh demanding hottie." --Carl, on my demand that he hook up his scanner

take you in :: spit you out