basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

1:05 p.m.
2003-09-20
Discourse on Change

Since I seem to be updating things about my diary, I guess while sitting around today and getting hungry at work, I'll work on my profile and my reviews list. Maybe I'll look up some more links for my links page. We'll see. But I want to add something new to things. I dunno.

People talk about the changes kids go through when they hit puberty, and call them life-shattering. Well, this is true, but what people sometimes don't realize is that we are constantly changing. Life always changes, adapts to situations, and always, always finds a way.

The age that I'm at now (20) and those ages immediately surrounding it bring about profound change as well. People are beginning to realize who they truly are. We're trying to find our own paths out into the world and branch from the path we've been following throughout most of our lives. Our bodies are more or less done changing. Now, it's time for the rest of ourselves to have a turn.

We might not like the paths others follow. Hell, we might not even like the paths that we follow. Those paths will branch off, go this way and that, and we might never meet up with the original paths again. But like Robert Frost alludes to, we've got to try those different paths, those paths we thought we'd never go to, and see if they're the ones that make a difference. In many cases, they are.

Something I've said in my life that I adhere to is that life is trial and error. One might do something incredibly crazy, so totally not like them that you wonder about their sanity, but that's a part of life, too. What they're doing might turn out well for them. My travel to Sweden was something like that. It might turn out badly, too, like my drive from Iowa. But the fact that the rest of the weekend was great worked out well, and I learned from the bad experience I've had. You just have to try things out, and if they don't work, get rid of them. It can be hard sometimes, but it's also what needs to be done sometimes.

So I'm rambilng. I don't care. I've been given a lot to think about lately. My life is starting to turn down one of those paths that I didn't think I'd ever follow. On that path, many things are happening, and I'm running into many people and many other things that I knew would be there. Some of those people will leave the path I'm on, and some will stay. I'll love them no matter what. Some things will stay the same, some things will change.

That's just a part of life.

Quote for the Day: "Still ending, and beginning still." --William Cowper

take you in :: spit you out