basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

9:22 p.m.
2002-07-04
A Sisterhood Snippet

Fic time. It's an excerpt, from somewhere mid story. I work in medius res, so here we go.

"Um, your Majesty?"

"Yes?" said Avi distractedly as she preacticed some simple rapier thrusts on a sparring dummy.

"The Lady Ivy Sirithwingwen is here to see you and she...um, politely informed me to tell you that she won't take 'she's busy' as an answer," the guard said nervously.

"What are you waiting for, then, lad?" Avi said, skewering the devil straight through. "Send her in. No sense in getting her angrier."

"Yes, my Queen," the young guard replied, and left to get the "visitor". Avi shook her head and sheathed her rapier. She then leaned it against the wall and traded it for her two thin blades that were her pride and joy. She knew Ivy well enough, and knew she'd have to get her mind off of whatever was troubling her somehow. Avi knew firsthand that a little skirmish now and then was a great remedy against anger.

And Ivy certainly was angry. Her face was as red as Avi's hair, and she had clenched her teeth firmly. She opened them only to demand loudly, "Where is he, Avi?!"

"I know not of what you speak," Avi replied calmly, drawing her swords. "Now have at you, Lady."

Ivy growled and unsheathed her sword, then took a wild swing which Avi deftly dodged. As their blades clashed back and forth, Ivy grunted her explanation. "Boromir didn't meet me for dinner, nor did he come home to me. While Aragorn is away, you're his master. Now where is he!"

She let out a wild scream and flipped over Avi's head, but the red lady was ready. She braced both blades against the almost deadly blow delivered by the elven woman, and forced her back. The swift parries, thrusts, swings, turns, and so forth continued as Avi said, "I saw your beloved not at all today, which had me sorely vexed. I value his advice highly. Indeed, I had hoped you would know of his whereabouts."

"Well, obviously, I don't!" exclaimed Ivy, now forcing Avi back in a frenzy of strikes. "We've got to find him before I lose my sanity!" She twirled her sword over her head, and sliced downward to deliver the final blow.

She misjudged Avi, however. The Queen of Gondor kicked out and knocked Ivy's sword out of her hand, and turned to knock her to the ground with a second kick. Before Ivy could respond, Avi stood over her, one sword poised for attack over her head and the other set against Ivy's neck. The elven princess stared up at Avi, breathing heavily, wondering what was coming next.

"If you do not calm down, you shall lose your head as well as your sanity, Lady," Avi said quietly, still holding her blade close to Ivy's neck. "Not by me, naturally, but by someone less inclined to pacifism." Avi smiled slightly, sheathed her blades, and helped her friend to her feet again. She sent a nearby servant for water, and led Ivy out of the training room to one of her more comfortable sitting rooms.

After letting Ivy settle into her favourite armchair, Avi sat in a nearby chaise lounge and looked at her closely. "You are feeling better now?" she asked.

"A little," Ivy admitted. "I'm worried and upset, but not angry anymore, thanks to that. I'm a little curious about your language, however."

Avi laughed and blushed slightly. "I tend to fall into archaic speech when presented with situations such as this. It'll wear off soon."

"Well, good--I don't think I could have taken much more of it," sighed Ivy, leaning back in her chair. "So you don't know where Boromir is?"

Avi shook her head. "Not unless he joined Aragorn on his voyage to Hobbiton."

Ivy groaned and smacked her forehead. "Of course! It is time for the guys to get together, isn't it? I had forgotten, since last year it was in Gondor, and they didn't have to leave."

"Well, there's your answer then, most likely," Avi said simply, smiling.

"I'm sorry, Avi," Ivy said sheepishly. "I've just got these bad feelings, is all."

"I could tell," Avi replied, gesturing to Ivy's change in hair colour. "You only use dark blues, purples, and et cetera when you're bothered. It's still rather odd, though, that Boromir would leave without telling you where he was going. He knows that sort of thing upsets you. I'll send word to Adele to let us know when he gets to the Shire."

"Thanks, Avi," Ivy said, grinning.

"Anytime, Ivy, dear," Avi replied, smiling back. "Now, if you're not busy, maybe we could pick this session up when you're a little less frenzied, mind you."

Ivy laughed and was about to accept when the guard who had admitted her entered the room. "Many apologies for not knocking, my Queen, but it's the Palantir."

"Adele?" Avi asked hopefully.

The young guard shook his head. "Lady Jade Greenleaf. She said to come right away, and she won't take 'I'm busy' as an answer."

"You people," Avi sighed, shaking her head. "Come on, Ivy. You'll probably want to hear this."

And so ends this section. I hope you enjoyed. Real updates in chronological order will start when...I...get them written. Yeah. Thanks.

Quote for the Day: "Let's make sausages." --Alex

take you in :: spit you out