basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

7:32 p.m.
2002-03-31
What Not to Do on the Triduum

And here it is--the long awaited Triduum update!

Holy Thursday: Felt bad, because I decided not to go to church. But God understands. So I decided to enjoy myself, and damn it, I did. Gabriel left for a LAN around ten AM my time, so I actually moved from the computer for the first time in days that day. I went and got a lunch, brought it back to the room and ate it, and made plans for dinner with Jim and to hang out with Lex and Sar. Jim came by around two thirty or three, and we went to Lindy's and Gertie's. I had soup, however--I wasn't feeling well. Then, it was off to visit the girls, and Alex was on a major sugar high or a paint high or something, because she couldn't stop laughing. Sarah was about ready to collapse, partly from the work, and partly from Alex's energy, methinks. We watched Will and Grace, talked about Alex's 365 husbands, then pretty much ordered Sarah to go to bed. Alex even showed her how comfy it was, so we decided to join her. After Alex turned off the light, she and I laughed and tickled each other and stuff, and Sarah slept through it, amazingly. Finally, we decided to stop being rude, and left her to slumber peacefully.

We moved ourselves to Alex's, and played around on the internet, like we usually do. The Lucio's have two computers now, so we were each on one, doing random things and IMing back and forth, which was silly, since we were right next to each other. She met Doug from Anet, and earned the title "Auntie Alex", since I'm "Mommy Abby". Add that to talking to and petting my food, laughing about purple sewer crack, and finding the most hysterical site (http://www.realultimatepower.net), and much hearty laughter ensued. It was one of the best nights I've had in a long time.

Good Friday: When midnight hit, I was still at Lex's, and ended up spending the night in her bed after sitting up for many hours (until about four AM, actually) being creative and nostalgic and things of that nature. Dave and Gabriel played key parts as time went on, the former more than the latter. After about a four or five hour sleep, we woke up, rolled ourselves out of bed, and I went home to prepare for the day ahead. I dozed from about ten AM until one-thirty PM, then took a quick bath and went to the Good Friday mass. I'm so not used to actually sitting in on that mass. For the past four years, I've sung at it, but since Alan hasn't been able to find time for the teen choir, we didn't do it this year, and it was really weird. No descants for Abby. *sniffles* I survived, snagged some tylenol for this neverending headache I had, then took off for Midway once more.

I was supposed to pick up Jamie Sanchez at the Midway Orange Line station, but she showed up there by car, courtesy of one of her friends. James and Veronica came along for the ride, and it was amusing overall. Jamie and I discussed Cowboy Bebop in the car ride to Alex's, and when we got there, pizza awaited. I irked God again, and passed on fasting, but only ate the cheese pizza, so as to not annoy God further. After Sarah came over, we left to go see Death to Smoochy. Oy, is that an absurd movie. Funny, yes. Interesting, yes. Absurd, OH, yes. But I enjoyed it, despite the borking headache I had. Upon arriving at Alex's once more, we found her brother and a giant cereal box there, so we quickly left in search of food. Portillo's was closing, so we went next door to the sugar-filled goodness of Krispy Kreme. There, we four sat around, laughed some more, and totally filled up on sugar. This (and the rest of the evening) was punctuated with Alex's continual "BAM! Don't talk back!", referring at first to what she'd do to Dave when she next saw him, but then turning to what she'd do to anyone who annoyed her--punch them, wait for them to say something, punch them again, and tell them not to talk back. Very amusing for the rest of us involved. But you've got to hear Alex actually say it before it gets the full effect.

Oh, and three words--Play-Dough Vomit.

Holy Saturday: The slowest day of the weekend, but just as good. I woke up around eleven, then left to go buy my books. I decided to stop in the room and click my AIM up and check my mail before going to buy them, and after a few minutes, Gabriel showed up, much to my joy. I wasn't sure if he would be back from his LAN-y goodness by then, but luckily for both of us, he was. We chatted, then he waited while I bought my books.

To quote Alex: >:|

I only found two books (one set is downtown, and I have no idea about the other), and those two books alone cost roughly $134. GAH! But at least those are my MWF books, so I'm set for tomorrow. I came back to the room, spent more time with my Gabriel, and hung out in the Anet chat as well. I had to keep running back and forth to make sure the car didn't get towed, but luckily, it didn't, and I had a nice afternoon with Stealth, Saheen, and the rest. Saheen got a haircut, and dyed it black and purple as well--totally keen. Stealth posted a song for the Anet band, and I think we'll use it. Add Saheen's nick change to "Moddess", the nice little messages Tom sent to the irksome kid he kicked out, and other things, and it was fun. I snagged some Starbucks, and went home. The rest of the evening consisted of buying an all-purpose binder for Spring Quarter, eating Chinese food, starting a new thing of Diablo II (pray for me), re-reading the Dark Scouts story, and taping session four of Bebop. I can't wait for next week--"Ballad of the Fallen Angels", which is what made me fall in love with Cowboy Bebop in the first place.

Easter Sunday: I had a major bout of insomnia on Sunday, and was ready to kick Stealth and his DST--it's not Daylight Savings Time here, but my mindset was that it was, so blah. I finally fell asleep around four AM again, woke up at seven-thirty when the alarm went off, shut it off, and went back to sleep. I woke up again at nine, and swore--mass starts at nine. I managed to get dressed in ten minutes, to mass in fifteen, and actually get a parking space. Amazing, since the nine mass is always hellishly crowded on Easter. How did I do it, you ask? Why, by creating my very own parking space, that's how. *grins evilly* But it all worked out. I had to stand for the mass, and kneel on the cold, stone floor (owie), but it was mass, and Father Frank's sermon was awesome. The communion meditation song the Ensemble did was great, too--the opening sounded exactly like the opening of the main Zelda theme! I had to laugh.

After mass, Mom, Hans, James, Sally, and I went to my Nana's for breakfast, thinking we'd be the only ones there. Nope--everyone was there, much to my motehr's dismay. She hates her youngest sister's husband with a passion, and had wanted to do breakfast with her mother instead of dinner at her sister's house for that reason--to avoid him at all costs. But they weren't there for long, and the food was good, so that's all that matters. After that, we hung out at home until about three thirty, then went to Dad's for a nice dinner. Then, James took me to the dorms, and I've been here for about three hours. Caitlin got home a little while ago, and I hope to write some Harry Potter fan fiction tonight. There were some other funny things that happened today (mostly involving James), but I left my handbook with the quotes in it at home, so it can't be inserted here. I just hope that my mom brings the thingy for me tomorrow--it has my driver's license and other helpful things in it.

But I should get off the computer, in case Caitlin (and Jamie, upon her arrival home) needs it. Besides, I've had enough computer time this week. I just hope to get more tomorrow morning, when I get back from class. Besides, this entry is long enough as it is.

Quote for the Day: "Most of [the ninjas'] free time is spent flying, but sometimes they stab." --excerpt from The Ninja Page

take you in :: spit you out