basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

8:27 p.m.
2002-03-24
Aye, a Weekend Update

What time is it? That's right. Weekend update time.

On Friday, I came home with my mother and Hans, and pretty much sat around at home the entire night. Watched Snatch and a bit of Shrek with Sally, and went to bed around midnight. It was nice.

On Saturday, we woke up early and went to McAuley for the incoming freshmen thingy. Sally got fitted for a uniform and auditioned for chorus, and I visited with Sharon Owens and Mrs. Karge, and it was very nice. Then, we went home, Mom and Hans went to Evanston, and Sally and I went to the mall. And ladies and gentlemen, I'm very proud and happy to announce that I now own three pairs of wearable pants. I bought a nice pair of jean khakis--carpenter style, dark--and a pair of *gasp* chick pants from Hot Topic. They're black and this interesting fabric, and have red stitches in them. They were a size 11 (argh) but they only just fit. I guess it's weight losing time for Abby. *sighs* But I also got a new red polo (the other one had a stain on it) and some undergarments--a red satin brassiere (I despise the word "bra". *shudders*) and a fun three-pack thingy of panties (I hate that word, too). They're comfy and have tea roses on them. The black ones only have a single pair of tea roses, but the grey and white have a tea rose pattern on them. Just in case anyone cared. We came home from the mall, and I discovered that, although I wear a 34 in my grey and red jeans from Hot Topic, wear a 36 in carpenter khakis. So I decided to return them the next afternoon.

Then, my father calls and says he got his new car, so Sally and I go with him to get his old car from the lot, and get to ride in the new car. It's a 2000 Firebird, black, with everything imaginable, including a stick shift. Now, my father hasn't driven stick in over 15 years, so he's having an interesting time, but he's generally happy. Now, his '95 Taurus wagon is on the south side, and I get it for ISU weekend (happy, Lex and Sar?). But I washed some clothes, taped session three of Bebop (Faye's first episode--yay!), and went to sleep.

The dreams I had Saturday night were weird, though. The most memorable one came after I fell back asleep for the forty-fifth time around 7 AM. I was in my neighborhood on one of those spring mornings in Chicago where it's warm and sunny, but there are clouds on the horizon that will be bringing storms. Me, Alan, Dan Riley, Lauren, and a few other Ridge people were sitting on a lawn at the 99th street end of my block, and were just relaxing, and I dozed off and dreamed in my dream. From where we were sitting, I could see the Chicago skyline, and all of a sudden, these clouds appeared, and they were actually buildings collapsing. About four collapsed around the Sears Tower, and I freaked out and called my mother at work, since she works about two buildings away from it. She gave me her best annoyed tone and told me everything was fine and I had to wake up. So I woke up from the dream within a dream, and just sort of looked around at everyone, and then I woke up from the actual dream. I couldn't get back to sleep after that.

So it's Sunday, and it's 9:30, and I get a call from Jim, reminding me about this dinner for his great uncle. I say, fine, I'll go, but when I ask what time he'll pick me up, he says at 12:45. Now, that's just not possible, because not only did I have mass at 12:00, it's Palm Sunday, and the Passion mass is always heinously long. So we decide I'll pick him up instead, and we go to the dinner, then go to his house, then he drives me back to campus. And now I'm here, and I'm so confused and annoyed with myself I could scream. I think I will--internally, of course. I don't want to cause a ruckus, after all.

Lord of the Rings better wail on the oscars, or I will be sad.

Quote for the Day: "I like that boulder. That is a nice boulder." --Donkey, Shrek

take you in :: spit you out