basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

10:10 p.m.
2002-01-27
A Long-Awaited Weekend Update

Wow, I just realized there hasn't been a true weekend update in quite some time. Most keen.

Well, Friday was really uneventful. I stopped by my dad's to tell him about the room, visited with my gramma a little bit while I was there--she's doing a heck of a lot better, thank God--and then hung out in Beverly the rest of the night, yakking away with Sally and watching TV and stuff. I wanted to soak in the tub, but our plumbing's awful, and during the week, a part of the ceiling under the bathtub, which has already been cracking for about nineteen years now, fell out. That sort of thing worries me, so I avoided the tub that night.

And a good thing, too, because the next day, after I took James to and from his last traffic (huzzah for him--he got his waiver!), and played Zelda for a little bit (Stone Tower Temple area in Majora's Mask--all I have to do is beat the game now), I came out of his room to find my mother caulking the bathtub so that we can at least use that. Downside is that the caulk won't fully set until Tuesday afternoon. That bathtub and shower can't be used at all until then. Needless to say, I'm triply showering tonight.

The rest of Saturday was interesting. My dad stopped in, and gave me some money for room stuff, and then I went to Sarah's and we went to babysit for seven children. Overall, it was fun. VERY tiring, but fun. There were four boys and three girls, and when we got there, the boys were playing roller coaster tycoon, and the girls were playing with their gazillion Polly Pockets. After we ate some pizza, they wanted to play hide and seek, so Sarah and I consented, and, despite not knowing the house well, and being the tallest and widest person there, I managed to never get found--because, as I told Sarah after she poked my leg when she was the seeker, if I don't see you, then you don't see me. ::grins at her cuteness:: But enough of that. When we babysitters grew weary of this, we called it quits, and the older three boys went to play a wrestling game on N64, and the girls and the youngest boy watched a movie. Everyone ended up upstairs after a while, and they all watched "Raising Arizona", and at about 2:00 AM, their parents came home. Sar and I were supposed to spend the night there, but sice it was relatively early, they drove us back to Sarah's, and I drove home shortly afterwards, much to Sarah's protestations. I can understand--I was obviously falling asleep on my feet--but I got home unscathed, only to find my father there. Since my gramma got hurt, he hasn't spent the night out by us, but since I wasn't expected home, and James decided not to come home that night, and my sister decided to have a friend over, he felt the need to stay. I don't blame him. I watched Rocky and Bullwinkle (cartoon, not movie), and then went to sleep.

Today was hectic. I had to get all my shopping done this morning, because Carso was taking us out for tea in the early afternoon. Long story short, I got my shopping for room junk mostly done, got ready, and went for tea. This was a new place--we've gone someplace else over the past two years--but it was very nice. Father Dan came with this time, and that was fun, too. After getting back to Fisher, I rushed over to McAuley to see the Kairos 41 people, and they, for the most part, seemed to have liked it. Alex looked more relaxed than I've seen her in a while, and Cute Robin returned (::grins::). I'm so happy for all of them, because Kairos really is a wonderful experience. After all that, I drove up to Evanston, and immediately got on the computer. After this, I will write my English paper, read some more of "Looking Backward" by Edward Bellamy for my Sci Fi/Utopian Society class, shower (triply), and pack a little. Then, I shall sleep.

I wish I could just sleep now. This weekend was sorely lacking in that little luxury. Ah, well. Come tomorrow night, I don't have to get up so early for classes anymore, even my 9:40. Huzzah!

Quote for the Day: "Are you going to keep filling your fountains with dead bodies?" "As long as the park inspector doesn't find out." --two of the boys, whilst playing "Roller Coaster Tycoon." (not the exact quote, but close enough--it really was hysterical at the time.)

take you in :: spit you out