basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

4:50 p.m.
2002-01-16
The Official First Day of Winter

It's snowing, it's snowed, and it's going to continue to snow throughout the night. And I think I, as well as much of Chicagoland, have this to say:

Finally.

I mean, let's face it. Things aren't quite right here until we get the first real snow. It's covering the ground, the trees, the buildings...everything. It gives everything this sense of newness. Beauty has returned, and things aren't so brown and ugly and blah anymore (or, at least, until the snow melts). People can be happier and friendlier, and families and friends want to be closer to each other and warmer towards each other. Everything looks pristine and pure...I personally feel rejuvenated by it. Everything will swing and be cool. How can it not, when everything is so beautiful?

I have a heinous history reading to do tonight, but I can do it whilst sitting in front of the window, my Kate blanket wrapped about me and the Normans sitting beside me, watching the light flakes drift down and settle on whatever happens to be below them. I'll drink tea and listen to Moby or Bond, and feel something akin to peace and serenity. I need these moments. They bring such joy.

As for right now, I will resign myself to eating soup, drinking Pepsi, eating cookies, and doing my usual internet regiment. The time for euphoria can wait.

Quote for the Day: "Crazy kabbutzians." --Brian from Sci Fi/Utopian Society on the kibbutz people of Israel

take you in :: spit you out