basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

12:42 p.m.
2002-01-09
Inventing Phrases

I just finished an PM to my Swedish friend from the message board, and I came up with an interesting phrase:

"It [British history] is going to be hell, but since I like British history, it'll be a fun hell."

Fun hell. Isn't that something of a contradiction in terms? Hell, by no means, is supposed to be fun--quite the contrary actually. Even those who don't necessarily subscribe to the idea that there is such a thing (or, state of mind, actually) as hell do recognize the fact that it has some very negative connnotations. So how can one have fun there? Evil people and the like wouldn't enjoy their stay there, either, or so we're led to believe. Yet, I understand (and others will, too) what I mean when I say "fun hell". I just hope that it doesn't take that "hell" part too seriously, and leans more towards the "fun" aspect of the phrase.

I love my English teacher. He's funny, intelligent, patient, has a beautiful British accent (which I still can't place, damn it)...I can't wait for class on Friday, even though I'm sure I'll be kept after. He seems to like making classes stay late, because he did it for the class before mine as well. But seeing as I enjoy him and his class, I don't mind the lateness in the slightest. Plus, it's a time killer--and for the chick with three hours to kill before her next class, every little bit helps.

Speaking of which, I have a few things to do before going to my 1:10 class. So I will now do that. ...Yeah. I suck at closings.

Quote for the Day: "Yo Mama's got holes in yo Daddy's stage." --Dan Riley

take you in :: spit you out