basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

5:12 p.m.
2002-01-01
Romantic Sensebilities

Dona Nobis Pacem.

I never realized how strong my prejudices were about the book "Little Women". It was one of my favourite novels as a young'un, and still stands in my list of nostalgia books. I watched the movie today (the '94 version with Winona Ryder, Christian Bale, and Gabriel Byrne), and I was actually yelling at the characters. Jo was fine, but I hate the fact that she didn't marry Laurie. That's all I ever wanted, was for those two to marry. I always hated Amy, and hated her even more because she ended up marrying Laurie. And Beth, my little Beth--always my favourite character--was played by bloody Claire Danes! WHY?! Ooh, that so pisses me off! I hate shrieking at the TV, but I had to do it. Sure, Jo and Friedrich Bhaer are nice together, but...Laurie! C'mon! I'd marry Laurie if I had the chance! But then again, I'd marry Friedrich if I had the chance, too. Grr! Curse my romantic sensibilities! I feel like Marianne Dashwood in "Sense and Sensebility" right about now, especially since I plan to go do some romantic writing in a little while.

Ah, "Sense and Sensebility"...Eleanor Dashwood, Colonel Brandon, Edward Ferrars...and the movie! Alan Rickman, Emma Thompson, Hugh Grant! Oh, I wish that movie was here and not in Evanston. I could certainly use some Jane Austen action right about now. ::sighs:: Colonel Brandon...Marianne didn't deserve him. Especially not Kate Winslet as Marianne. Grr! Argh!

I'm getting all worked up. I should stop now whilst I'm ahead.

Quote for the Day: "Mr. Potter. Our new...celebrity." --Severus Snape, "Harry Potter and the Sorceror's Stone" (Not the best Snape quote, but...meh, it's Snape.)

take you in :: spit you out