basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

1:52 a.m.
2001-12-26
Snow, Family, "Midnight Mass", and Radar

Merry Christmas, Joyous Winter Break, and a Happy New Year to all!

Snow finally hit Chicago, and I couldn't be happier. The best part was (seriously) driving in it. I drove out to Alex's on the 23rd, and it was snowing a little more than lightly, and the wind was just blowing the snow around on the ground, and it looked really neat. It looked just like sand blowing around in a desert. I wish I had been a passenger instead of a driver, because I really couldn't experience the beauty (to me) of it, because I had to kind of concentrate on not killing myself and others. But what I could experience was great.

The snow is nice, but I could do without the single digit temperatures, and the wind chill factors. I'm shivering right now, and I'm in my house. I've been forced to wear a jacket for two consecutive days, and I'm not liking it. It was amusing to be able to go out into Chicagoland in December without proper weather protection. Now, however, I need to take better care of myself. The jacket will be worn frequently.

My Christmas went well enough, as Christmases go. Jim and Veronica met our family, and they are still sane and came out of it fairly unscathed. My family wasn't too drunken, and I didn't get silly off of champagne, nor was I pulled over for any reason, which was nice. Christmas Eve was with my mother's family, and today was with my father's. Everything was rather nice, if I do say so myself (and I do).

Midnight (or, shall I say, 10 PM) Mass was okay, and that makes me sad. I always look forward to that mass--it's definitely my favourite. This year, however, I was a trifle irked. Carso gave a part I adore to this chick who is a mike hog and can't sing for shit (at least in my opinion), but because she's the only first soprano besides me, we always sing the same parts. Blah on her. She never moved from next to the bloody mike! She always does this! But anyway, he also did this one song that we always do differently. We sing the songs "Night of Silence" and "Silent Night" concurrently, and we always sing "Night of Silence" in unison first before breaking into "Silent Night" under it. This year, he did "Silent Night" first, at the last minute. We all had these hysterical looks of confusion and disbelief on our faces when he told Maureen Klienick to announce it like that, but we did it anyway--we could hardly do otherwise. I sang the best I have in weeks, though, so I was at least happy about that. And my music for this Sunday is nice. So enough complaining out of me.

Quote for the Day: "You see that bird?/It's called an eagle/but since it's little, it has another name/a sparrow/on Christmas and Thanksgiving we eat them." --Lucy, "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown" (Gary Burghoff was the original Charlie Brown!)

take you in :: spit you out