basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

2:03 p.m.
2001-11-11
Why am I Even Here?

Okay, you know how I said that things should go well even with Dan on the piano. Well, I was wrong. There were several times during the night where Dan must have decided, "Huh. I'm going to set the tempos tonight, and not follow Abby when she tries to set them and then change them." The actors had the same idea. There were several songs where the actors just flew away with things, Kristina Patrick in particular. I'm going to kill that girl. She's a fine actress--she can only play one type of character, but she can play it well--but she can't sing for SHIT. And then she yells at us for not taking her tempo. Excuse me, but I'M the conductor. I set the tempo, people. If you don't like it, tough. I try to keep the same tempo every night, but sometimes, things don't go perfectly. Do NOT take it upon yourselves to take it faster or slower because you feel the tempo isn't right. It also took her until last night to sing anything on key. When I joked about putting a mike on me and having Kristina mouth the words to Dan, he gave me a look and said he was seriously considering it. God, she sucks. And I get more "requests" from her than anyone. It's REALLY ANNOYING.

And can the Mother Abbess take "Climb Every Mountain" any slower? I mean, come ON.

Everything went generally okay, though, and I have a break until the pick-up rehearsal Wednesday. Then, the production staff will get up on stage as the children and perform "Do-Re-Mi". Here's the tentative cast:

Dan Riley: Gretl

Kevin McSweeney: Marta

Melanie Aspan: Brigitta

Abby Girdauskas: Kurt

Sydney Niblack-Grabe: Louisa

Lauren Cronin: Friedrich

Erin Grabe: Liesl

If you know ANY of these people, this is a funny ass cast. Here's the production staff cast that aren't kids:

Maria: Erin Grabe

Captain: Lauren Cronin

Mother Abbess: Kevin McSweeney

Max: Abby Girdauskas

Rolf: Sydney Niblack-Grabe

Liesl: Dan Riley

(We never did decide where Melanie would go, but she has her pick of where she will be. I think she'd make an amusing Herr Zeller, though.)

Once again, amusing.

Now I must go. I have a few things to check before going to Sarah's.

Quote for the Day: "I've made Abby devious!" --Melanie

take you in :: spit you out