basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

8:04 a.m.
2001-11-08
Opening night!

It's Opening Night!

We're ready, despite what other people might think. I think, sans maybe two numbers, we sounded very good last night at our preview show/final dress rehearsal (to which Baldo Salvarino, our region manager, did not show up, I don't think), and will continue to sound as so for the remaining six performances. I'm going to fall asleep in the middle of the show tonight, though, and my arm's going to fall off after closing night--I'm still not used to this conducting for an hour and a half straight thing--but it's going to go well, I can feel it. I mean, I Austin Powers danced last night.

The previous night, however, did not go so hot. Both the cast and the orchestra really did not sound too keen. Kevin gave a little speech during the "intermission" on how much we sucked (his exact words), and I gave a similar if less harsh speech after the run was over. There were stupid mistakes made, stuff that shouldn't have been bad. But it looks like we took care of that yesterday. Wish us luck in whatever way you see fit, and be thinking of me around 7:40, when the first orchestra number starts, and my arm is trembling not from pain, but from sheer terror.

Two days ago, Jim and I celebrated three years together. Three years. Isn't it amazing? I don't know what else to say about that except that I wish he had been here and I hadn't had rehearsal so we could do something real to celebrate it. Acknowledging it in IMs doesn't fly for me.

Math class awaits.

Quote for the Day: "Brainless git!" "Stupid Prat!" --an exchange of insults, usually between Sarah and myself, in any give order.

take you in :: spit you out