basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

12:02 a.m.
2001-10-15
The Usual Updates

So my Gramma's not much better. Her hearing aid is on the fritz, so she can't hear, and I think the Vicadin (sp) they have her on is making her a little fuzzy. But my aunt Trish made it in around 10:00-10:30 this evening after a heinous flight (long story) and she's taking Gramma to the hospital for a follow-up tomorrow while Dad's at work, and I'll probably be out there on Tuesday or so. So there should be updates on this as the week progresses.

This weekend was pretty good overall. I fucked around at home until I couldn't take it, so I called Alex and we hung out like in the "good old days" and bullshitted around and played a keen computer game that I will quote from at the end (sorry for stealing it, Lex--you knew it would get its way in here one of these days, though!). It was very ruling, and I had much fun. Thanks for a great time, Lex--I miss these little things! I love you!

Today was fun as well, and interesting to boot. I had mass at noon, and I got my first critiques from Carso in a while. He told me I cued people in to sing too often--I will refrain from doing so from now on. He also said I tapped my foot too much--I guess it was distracting or something, so the foot tapping is out. But he did give me some good criticism--he said my high D's are coming along nicely, which I appreciated him saying--most sopranos like hearing that their high notes are sounding good as opposed to screechy. That went okay overall. Then, Kate and Arthur showed up at my door and we figured out what to do for her birthday. So she, Arthur, Sarah, Alex, Mike, Jenny (the last two friends of Kate and Arthur's), and me went to Arthur's house and decided to go bowling. Well, when we got to the bowling alley, it had started to storm like nobody's business, and it was even hailing to boot. So what do we do? Yeah, we go out and run through it to get to the door. It was stupid because it was painful and COLD and I was of course still in my church clothes--my black turtleneck and overshirt, my knee length red plaid skirt, nylons, and heels--so I was even colder than everyone else. Then, when we went to get lanes, there weren't any open, so we decided to wait for one to open--in roughly half an hour. Sarah and I headed for the arcade to play Star Wars pinball and Marvel vs. Capcom 2 (respectively) and the others decided to screw waiting and we went back to Arthur's and ate junk food, drank slurpees, and just bullshitted around and watched TV until Kate left for ISU again. I already miss her. She's just the most awesome person to have around, and I only get to see her so often. And I'm not just saying this because she reads my diary (or she better read my diary! :o) but because it's 100% true. I love you, Kate! But after all that, Sarah, Alex, and I went for a bite to eat at Baker's Square with the cutest waitress ever (cute in a personality way, not really a looks way), then went to Alex's to show Sarah the game. Her brother was on the computer, however, so we just watched The Emperor's New Groove (huzzah!) until I had to go to my dad's to get a ride back to Evanston. We waited 'til Aunt Trish got there, then bullshitted with her for about half an hour before we left to come here. I wished I wasn't so anti-alcohol sometimes--I could have used the high ball my dad offered me when I got in at the house or the glass of wine Trish offered me when she got hers. I kinda needed it. But there's always later in the week when I go out there again.

So there's the usual update. Pit went well enough, and so did the rehearsal upstairs (or so I was told). My brother and his girlfriend had a good weekend, as did my sister and her friends. My boyfriend is the cutest thing ever, even when he's deliberately trying to get a rise out of me. And that's that. Good night and sleep well, all.

Quote for the Day: "There's a monkey in my pocket, he's stealing all my change..." --opening of the Popular Children's Song "There's a Monkey in My Pocket" from "The Curse of Monkey Island".

take you in :: spit you out