basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

10:26 a.m.
2004-03-04
Lisa's Bad Map of Europe, or Cold War Explanations

Today in History, Lisa drew an egg on the board, called it "Lisa's Bad Map of Europe", then drew a squiggly line down the middle of it to indicate the Iron Curtain.

We could not stop laughing.

But amazingly enough, it helped several students understand a little bit about the Cold War in Europe.

Some still don't understand about the Cold War in the rest of the world, but that's understandable. It's more confusing than most people believe. I had a nice chat with a kid in my class about why it's confusing, and then another girl joined us. It was a nice feeling. Sure, I don't know their names, but it's like, "Hey, Lisa, stuff you're saying is affecting people. Way to go!"

I'm going to email her now and tell her that...hang on...

*intermission music a la Monty Python and the Holy Grail*

/end music

Back. I hope she's amused. ^^

Carl's keeping me company right now while I avoid finishing my paper like the plague. Sure, I've only got about one or two more paragraphs to do, and sure, it's actually going to meet the page requirements without me having to add filler (thank you, long titled sources and in-text parenthetical citations), but I really just don't feel like touching it right now. It's making me shiver just to think about it.

But that might also just be the cold in this building right now. I swear, do you just snap the "heat off" button when Smarch 1 hits, DePaul? Sheesh.

Quote for the Day: "As he brews, so shall he drink" --Ben Jonson (the duder who the paper features)

take you in :: spit you out