basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

5:34 p.m.
2003-08-06
Pittsburgh Reflections

Holy Christmas, I have so much to catch up on. There will be a LOT of phone calling done tonight and tomorrow. Look, you leave for a week, and everything just seems to explode. I haven't even gotten to A4 yet, and I didn't even touch about half the diaries on my list. *sighs* Things are not supposed to get so busy so early on. School's not for another month, no da!

Anyway, the trip.

I'm not going to go into a day by day synopsis. That's what my travelogue is for. If you really want to read it, I'll type it up and send it to you (whoever you might be). Otherwise, let's just get through a general thing, shall we?

This trip was filled with family. I knew I had a lot of family on my mother's side in Pennsylvania (Naths and Reedys and whatever), but DAMN. I seriously met about 30 or so new cousins/aunts/uncles/great-relatives/whatever in Pittsburgh alone. I mean, I had met them before, but it was when I was about *this* high (you know what I mean when I say that). I heard that so many times, it was weird. But these are such wonderful people. Aunt Pat (Nana's sister) housed us three days, and everyone else kept us fed and showed us around and were just incredibly amazing. We went sightseeing with David (Nana's nephew), and barbecued with just about everyone else at one point or another. Jane (a cousin, I believe) drove us through half of route 88 so that we wouldn't get lost, even though it was out of her way. They were so kind and everything, and I'm SO glad I met them. Add 30 more people to my Christmas card list, to be sure. :D

It also made me appreciate and dislike my sister more. She still annoys me, I still think she has issues and really isn't a good person, and I still want to shoot her most of the time, but if she hadn't been there, I wouldn't have survived this trip. Thank God for her.

But my Nana.

I love her. Let me get that out right now.

But God damn it, I can't stand her right now. I never realized how much I hate it when people are so set in there ways, and how much I hate it when people gossip the way she does. And she has faith in me, sure, but only as far as her limited vision can see. She didn't think I could put transmission fluid in a car because I was a woman. She thought every time she didn't see something she recognized (and by the way, she hasn't been to the city in six years or so, and is 79 years old), we were lost, when in actuality, I was getting us to where we needed to go. I feel like such a jerk whining like this, but damn. I don't know what else to do. I appreciate everything she did for me and my sister, especially this weekend, but is nothing good enough for that woman? GOD.

*breathes heavily*

I don't know. I feel very childish right now. But everyone needs to be childish once in a while, no da.

I turned an eight hour drive into a six hour one, though. And I did both without music. o.o

It's no wonder I've been blaring music in the car ever since I got home today. Sure, it's mostly been the Fest CD, but there's nothing wrong with that.

My seatbelt is possessed. But more on that later.

Oh, and the Chinatown trip is still on. Details will come via email or phone call tomorrow late AM or early PM, since I have to work at 4 PM for Kara.

I'm just amazed that so many people could be so great AND be family. XD And that so much could happen and I was only gone a week. Kate, how do you go to school out of Chicago? o.o How will I survive if I go to Mankato?

Lordy.

Quote for the Day (and trip): "Cranberry!" --Sally and Nana (don't ask unless you really want to know. I mean really.)

take you in :: spit you out