basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

10:20 a.m.
2002-09-17
Paranoia!

I'm so incredibly nervous. I'm writing a card to Gabriel's mom.

It's in Spanish.

What the heck do I know about Spanish? Well, I do know a little, but not enough to look the slightest bit intelligent. I'm going to look like a four year old. *buries her head in her hands*

I mean, I just want to say Happy Birthday, but even just saying that has got me nervous. I mean, is it going to look like I really care (because I do), or is it going to look like I'm trying too hard? I don't know what she's going to think. But I guess I shouldn't put thoughts into her head. I know enough about her, but then again, I don't know enough.

No se. Just...no se.

Plus, she's all keen about me calling her "mom-in-law", as it were, which opens up a new set of worries. Every girl is ultimately worried about what their mother in law is going to think about them, even if they know said mother in law really well. What if you screw up, do or say something stupid around them? Then you're branded forever. Plus, I'll be quite a ways away from home, so if I screw something up then, whoo boy.

I just have to remember not to say anything bad (or learn any bad words, I guess) in Spanish, and I have to remember not to say "same day service", because that could be taken wrong.

That was for you, Kate. :D

I realize that I'm just being paranoid, and not giving people enough credit. It'll all work out. But for right now, I better get cracking on that card. I have to go mail it soon.

Quote for the Day: "I'm not alone 'cause the TV's on, yeah...I'm not crazy 'cause I take the right pills everyday..." --Jimmy Eat World

take you in :: spit you out