basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

11:13 a.m.
2001-09-12
Peace

I don't know what I can do. This whole thing has hit a lot closer to home than I ever imagined it would. I am so deeply moved and upset that every time I think about it, I want to cry. So many lives were lost, needlessly. There were children on those planes. There were people the same age as my brother, my sister, my best friends, me...all with their whole lives ahead of them, and they were taken away in such a horrific manner. Every time I think of those children, I have to cry. Such as now. I'm making a fool of myself in the computer center at DePaul. But it's just so...I don't know.

One thing I am doing, though, is taking a stand against further violence. I know the government is going to retaliate. President Bush made that quite clear. But until then, I think that people should realize that we've had enough death and carnage and destruction. I think that we should all unify and support those families that lost friends, parents, children, and so on. While we're all still recovering from this, I'm going to wear white ribbons (white being the colour of the dove, a well-known symbol for peace, and a colour of calmness and so forth) in honour of those people, and with hopes for peace--one on my clothes, and one in my hair. Today, I wear black in mourning for all those whose lives were lost--including those who perpetrated these acts. The fact that they had to give their lives for their cause shows how much their cause meant to them, and although it was truly horrible what they did and to all those people, they died, too.

I hope that people will try to curb any violence they see in their areas being done to people of Middle Eastern and Muslim descent. Even here at DePaul, Muslim students have already been assaulted. These people had nothing to do with these attacks. We don't even know who was responsible. So instead of adding to the violence, I urge everyone to simply unify, support one another, and do whatever they can to recover peacefully. Stick together with your friends, and tell them and your families that you love them--believe me, they all need to hear that right now, in this time of sadness and despair.

Believe in peace, because it can be attained. It is up to us.

Quote for the Day: "And though I should wander the valley of death, I fear no evil for you are at my side...your rod and your staff, my comfort and my hope." --Psalm 23, set to the tune of "Shepherd Me, O God", verse three (it's very moving if it's sung, so if you know the tune, listen to it in your head)

take you in :: spit you out