basics
newest
older
random

about me
profile
100 things

contact
email
notes
book

extra
cast
family
schedule
rings a-m
rings n-z
reviews
links

credit
layout
diaryland

7:38 a.m.
2002-02-25
A Frustrating Weekend

Either later today or tomorrow I'll add the final cast list. I just don't feel like digging it out right now--I am far too frustrated.

I ended up going to Iowa this weekend. I can't say it was bad--I saw Jim, whom I haven't seen since early January, ate Pizza Hut, watched Moulin Rouge, and got to see if I could drive four-five hours alone, amongst other things--but I can't say it was good, either. Things happened that I didn't want to happen, and things didn't happen that I wanted to, at least, not until right before I was going to leave, and an hour before I had originally planned to leave, to boot. I don't know. I really don't know anymore. Hopefully, things will work out for the better.

But all in all, frustrating is the word I'd use to describe the weekend in general. As I turned down the main drag thing in Grinnell to go to the college proper, the Mazda started making funny noises, running much louder than it should be, and it freaked me out. I still had the entire 317 mile drive back (I reset the mile counter thingy on the way home), and I didn't want to do it on a broken car. The car made it home just fine, and my dad says its probably just the exhaust or muffler, but I'm still annoyed. Now what the fuck am I supposed to drive? The Mazda is too loud, and I don't want to hurt it anymore, and the blue car is illegal. I'm going to email Hans and my mother in Honduras in a minute to see what they think. Whatever they think, I'm stealing the Tahoe tonight. I need some luxury.

Then, the papers. I have two due today--one rough draft (English) and one final draft (focal point). The English is okay--Chris won't read it, and I can edit it profusely before Friday when he does--but the focal point, I'm screwed on. I didn't get the reading done for the second part of the paper, and I only have about an hour with which to do it. I tried to access it now, while I sit in the internet cafe with my caramel cappucino, but it won't let me use the Adobe Reader thingy, which is what I need to read this fucking thing. Can't I just write the "Handmaid's Tale" part of the paper and call it a day? I don't give two shits about the fucking Oenida community. And the English paper only cites five of the six primary sources I used, which is going to make me look like a jackass. Heinous editing to do this week--Wednesday, probably.

Sally totally ruined dinner yesterday. Since she wasn't going to be home today, James and I decided we'd eat hot pockets for dinner today, so as to just be able to eat whenever we wanted, because I wouldn't be getting home until late, whether I go and get the Tahoe or not. But Sally just decided, "I'm hungry. I'm going to eat whatever I want," and the hot pockets were it. Then, she got all defensive when I told her she ruined dinner. Hey, she's going to get a cooked meal today. James and I are not. Lord only knows what the fuck we're going to eat tonight. But I have three chapters to read for history for tomorrow, so it won't be any grand meal, that's for damned sure.

Then, I stayed up until 11 PM, despite my exhaustion (I didn't sleep well in Iowa because my sinuses and a minor cold were acting up, and I was snoring, something I don't usually do, and it kept waking me up because of it. I could just scream) so I could tape Cowboy Bebop, only to discover that it wasn't on. Cartoon Network started this Saturday night block of anime--which includes Bebop. I nearly cried. That was pretty much all I was looking forward to last night, and it gets fucked up.

So I'm running on about four hours of sleep, because I had to get up early to dry my clothes because the boy decided to take my darks out of the dryer and let them sit out while he dried his whites. I could just scream. And to top it all off, Animenet.com is "currently experiencing high traffic". I haven't talked with Gabriel since Friday afternoon. I haven't gotten a new PM from him since Friday night. It's enough to drive me nuts.

I'm going to try the site one more time, then leave this bloody place and go to the lab in SAC. Maybe it'll work there. If nothing else, I'll get those readings done. I hope today gets better--I hate complaining like this.

8:25 AM: Still no Animenet...and I forgot my watch at home, so I have to keep searching out clocks to ascertain the time. Life is not as beautiful as it may seem, as of late.

11:18 AM: Why is the site still down? I'm getting more and more annoyed as the day goes on. Even my caramel chillucino from the coffee stand in SAC hasn't helped. And now, to write a bloody paper...again.

2:00 PM: Solution! I will finally join mIRC! I can at least get into the chat then, and things will work out. Enough from me for today. Adieu.

Quote for the Day: "The things I do for love!" --Courage, "Courage the Cowardly Dog"

take you in :: spit you out